Sunday, March 28, 2010

Apex signs two book deal with J.M. McDermott

Apex Publishing announces the release of J.M. McDermott’s dark fantasy MAZE and the reissue of the author’s Crawford Prize shortlisted novel LAST DRAGON.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

[Lexington, KY - March 25th, 2010]
The labyrinth is full of wonders, both beautiful and frightening. Trolls, minotaurs, and other odd nasties (such as tiny dog-like beasts with the heads of babies) hunt a small band of human survivors as a group of wayward people try to scratch out a life among a literal maze of stone that has no beginning or end. One part Alice in Wonderland and two parts Pan’s Labryinth, you’re sure to be enthralled by J.M. McDermott’s vivid imagination.

An intricate web of stories weave together to tell a tale of revenge, justice, ambition, and power. Zhan has been sent to find her grandfather, a man accused of killing not only Zhan’s family, but every man, woman, and child in their village. What she finds is a shell of a man, and a web of deceit that will test the very foundations of a world she thought she understood.

A tale of revenge that grows into something more, LAST DRAGON is a literary fantasy novel in the tradition of Gene Wolf and Gabriel Garcia Marquez. J.M. McDermott brings the fantasy genre to new literary heights with a remarkable first novel that will leave critics and readers alike in stunned awe. Originally published as part of Wizards of the Coast’s defunct ‘Discovery’ line of dark fantasy novels.

MAZE releases from Apex Publications in the Spring of 2011. LAST DRAGON reissues in early 2011. Updates and information available at www.apexbookcompany.com.

J.M. MCDERMOTT’s first novel, LAST DRAGON, was shortlisted for the Crawford Prize, and was #6 on Amazon.com’s Year’s Best SF/F of 2008. By day, he is a game writer for an unannounced XBox 360 title from Xaviant Software, north of Atlanta.

APEX PUBLICATIONS (www.apexbookcompany.com) is a small press dedicated to publishing exemplary works of dark science fiction, fantasy and horror. Owned and operated by Jason B. Sizemore, Apex publishes the critically acclaimed Apex Magazine. In 2006, Apex Publishing branched into producing novels, novellas, collections, and anthologies, and earning a Bram Stoker Award nomination for the company’s first release, AEGRI SOMNIA, an anthology of horror in 2007.

Press Contact: Jason B. Sizemore
jason@apexbookcompany.com

Are We Alone for 03/29/10 - SETI: Now What?

Image for Are We Alone weekly radio show
Are We Alone - SETI: Now What?

ENCORE: Hello! Is anyone out there? As the scientific search for extraterrestrial intelligence marks its 50th anniversary, there’s been no contact as yet with alien beings. But SETISETI retrospective that looks at the past and future of the search.

We remember the first scientific SETI search… Carl Sagan… how the SETI Institute began… the WOW signal…and the 1993 NASA budget cuts.

We’ll also hear from critics of the search… scientists involved in optical SETI and SETI@home. Plus, international collaborations… and where the search is headed.

Guests:
researchers maintain that we are not alone. Find out why in a
  • Frank Drake – Director of the Carl Sagan Center for the Study of Life in the Universe, SETI Institute
  • Jill Tarter – Director of the Center for SETI Research, SETI Institute
  • Tom PiersonCEO, SETI Institute
  • Paul Horowitz – Physicist, electrical engineer, Harvard University
  • Dan Werthimer – Chief Scientist, SETI@home, University of California, Berkeley
  • Ben Zuckerman – Physicist, Astronomer, UCLA

Permalink: http://radio.seti.org:80/episodes/SETI_Now_What

You can listen to this and other episodes at http://radio.seti.org/, and be sure to check out Are We A Blog?, the companion blog to the radio show.

Flash Fiction updates for Mar. 28, 2010

Here are the latest stories and news from 365tomorrows.com:
Have a great read!

Spooky Doofus News For Mar. 28, 2010

Spooky Doofus Web Comic
Here is the latest news from the gouls over at Marc Lapierre's new web comic Spooky Doofus:
Have a howling good time with Landon and friends

Sunday, March 21, 2010

Are We Alone for 03/22/10 - Thanks for the Memories

Image for Are We Alone weekly radio show
Are We Alone - Thanks for the Memories

Memories are slippery things – some are crystal clear, others more like a muddy pool, and some… well, they seem to vanish completely.

Scientists admit that memory is all very complicated, but one piece of the puzzle lies in how we age – we’ll hear the latest research. Meanwhile, meet the man who digitally logged his every waking moment – and why maybe the secret to happiness isn’t in remembering but in forgetting.

Plus, the case for deleting data from your hard-drive… and from your brain itself.

Guests:

You can listen to this and other episodes at http://radio.seti.org/, and be sure to check out Are We A Blog?, the companion blog to the radio show.

Flash Fiction updates for Mar. 21, 2010

Flash Fiction Friday - The latest stories and news from 365tomorrows.com:
Have a great read!

Spooky Doofus News For Mar. 21, 2010

Spooky Doofus Web Comic
Here is the latest news from the gouls over at Marc Lapierre's new web comic Spooky Doofus:
Have a howling good time with Landon and friends

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Apex Publications turns five today!


Posted on behalf of Jason Sizemore - Apex Publishing:

Five years ago today I released the first issue of Apex Science Fiction and Horror Digest. And now here we are with twenty books under the alien head banner, a pro-level e-zine, and a fan base that I adore and love.

The past five years have been a blast. The best part of having created Apex Publications has been the multitudes of friendships I’ve made. Without Apex, I would not know people like Deb Taber, Mari Adkins, Gill Ainsworth, Maggie Jamison, Jennifer Brozek, Alethea Kontis, Mary Robinette Kowal, Maurice Broaddus, Jerry Gordon, Lavie Tidhar, MM Buckner, Ekaterina Sedia, Cherie Priest, Geoffrey Girard, Jennifer Pelland, Judi Davidson, Michael A. Burstein, J.M. McDermott, Sara M. Harvey, Melissa Gay, Alex McVey, Katja Faith, Gary A. Braunbeck, Lucy Snyder, Nick Mamatas, Wrath James White, Gene O’Neill, Eugie Foster, Steve Gilberts…frankly, this list could go on for pages (and many of these people have been by my side for the whole five years). As you can see, I have been blessed with an abundance of awesome friends and support.

To celebrate I’m giving out a $5.00 coupon for use in the Apex Shop good on any order until March 23rd. Just enter BIRTHDAY on checkout to receive your discount. (Hey, after five years, y’all know that I’m always hustling!)

*Raises alien head shot glass to the air*
And here’s hoping the next five years are as great as the past five!

Apex Book Company - Dark SF, Fantasy, and Horror
http://www.apexbookcompany.com

Monday, March 15, 2010

Flash Fiction updates for Mar. 15, 2010

Flash Fiction Friday - The latest stories and news from 365tomorrows.com:
Have a great read!

Are We Alone for 03/15/10 - Physics Phrontiers

Image for Are We Alone weekly radio show
Are We Alone - Physics Phrontiers

Physics means getting physical if you’re tackling the biggest, most mysterious questions in the universe. Stoic scientists endure the driest, darkest, coldest spots on the planet to find out how it all began and why there’s something rather than nothing. From the bottom of an old iron mine to the top of the Andes, we’ll hear their stories.

Plus, Steven Weinberg on this weird stuff called dark energy, and Leonard Susskind sees double, no, triple, no, …infinite universes.

Guests:

You can listen to this and other episodes at http://radio.seti.org/, and be sure to check out Are We A Blog?, the companion blog to the radio show.

Thursday, March 11, 2010

Sunday, March 7, 2010

Are We Alone for 03/08/10 - Skeptic Check: Climate Clamor

Image for Are We Alone weekly radio show
Are We Alone - Skeptic Check: Climate Clamor

Arctic ice is melting, atmospheric temperatures are climbing – yet climate change science is under attack. Detractors claim that researchers are manipulating data and hoodwinking the public. And the public is increasingly skeptical about the science.

Find out what’s behind the surge of climate change skepticism… what the IPCC really does… and why snowstorms don’t refute global warming.

Plus a health report on the world’s coral reefs and what we’ll miss if they disappear.

It’s Skeptic Check… but don’t take our word for it!

Guests:
  • Stephen Schneider – Climate scientist, Stanford University
  • Phil Chapman – Apollo 14 Mission Scientist, now a geophysicist and consultant on energy and astronautics
  • Simon Donner – Geographer at the University of British Columbia
  • Sheila Jasanoff – Professor of Science and Public Policy at Harvard University

You can listen to this and other episodes at http://radio.seti.org/, and be sure to check out Are We A Blog?, the companion blog to the radio show

Flash Fiction updates for Mar. 07, 2010

Here are the latest stories and news from 365tomorrows.com:Have a great read!

Spooky Doofus News For Mar. 07, 2010

Spooky Doofus Web Comic
Here is the latest news from the gouls over at Marc Lapierre's new web comic Spooky Doofus:
Have a howling good time with Landon and friends.

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Special "Mary Robinette Kowal" issue of Apex Magazine released

This month we've published two new works by the Cambell-winning Hugo-nominated author Mary Robinette Kowal. First is a novelette titled "The Bride Replete." The second is a short story titled "Beyond the Garden Close." We also run two reprints: "Scenting the Dark" and "Horizontal Rain."

Apex Magazine can be found at
http://www.apexbookcompany.com/apex-online

Jason Sizemore


Apex Book Company - Dark SF, Fantasy, and Horror

http://www.apexbookcompany.com